The Duo Nefeli is the story of the friendship between two musicians, Primor SLUCHIN and Agnes PEYTOUR, who first met at a harp course in their native France, then again by chance ten years later in Belgium. In the meantime, one was harpist with the Royal Opera of Wallonia in Liege, the other a well-established teacher in Brussels, with positions at the European Schools and the Academy of Music in Anderlecht. They soon realised that they shared the same passion for music, and the same vision, which led to the formation of their duo, Nefeli, in 2008.

The Duo Nefeli was soon recognised as one of the most surprising and original musical ensembles of its generation. Since starting to work together, the two harpists have received regular invitations to perform in Europe: at Brussels Harp Festival, Festival Musiq3, pails des Beaux-Arts, Musee des Instruments de Musique, l'-Arelier Marcel Hastir (all Brussels), as well as at la Nuit Musicale de Seneffe, Florenville Festival, the Maison de la Poésie, Namur in addition to Charleroi and Liege (Musee des Beaux-Arts). In France, their first concert took place in 2008 at the Palais des Papes in Avignon. Since then, audiences from Lille to Carqueiranne, Moulins to Grenoble (auditoria du Musee) have had the joy of listening to them. Still in France, they also participated in the Musicales Guil Durance and the Festival d'Aubusson. In February 2015 the Duo Nefeli will perform at the Festival Harpe en Avesnois (near Lillle ) which is considered one of the most important of its kind.

Playing together at all these concerts and festivals, a close bond developed between the two musicians, lending both a strength and a sensitivity to their duo, which allowed them to explore and share with their audiences familiar, as well as original or forgotten elements of the repertoire. The intensity of their interpretation, the expressiveness of their playing, their rigour and their richness of tone have been hailed wherever they go.

Agnes-Peytour--Primor Sluchinjpg030

Playing together at all these concerts and festivals, a close bond developed between the two musicians, lending both a strength and a sensitivity to their duo, which allowed them to explore and share with their audiences familiar, as well as original or forgotten elements of the repertoire. The intensity of their interpretation, the expressiveness of their playing, their rigour and their richness of tone have been hailed wherever they go.

Both teachers, Agnes PEYTOUR and Primor SLUCHIN love to share their passion for the harp, reaching beyond simply the musical performance as such. Each of their concerts is an opportunity to discover the secrets of a particular era, its composers and their works,as well as the harp. Motivated by a strong desire to pass on to others their love of heir instrument, they launched an international competition for young harpists, HARPGIO, which takes place every two years at the Musical Instrument Museum in Brussels.

The Duo Nefeli breathes life into the vast repertoire which exists for two harps, from works written in the 17th century, when the combination was fashionable, throughout the whole history of music, using carefully selected transcriptions. Their wish to encourage original works has led to them copperating closely with current composers. For example, in 2015 the two harpists will play a work by Frederic BOULARD, written especially for the Festival Harpe en Avesnois.

In 2009 Primor SLUCHIN and Agnes PEYTOUR recorded their debut CD, Duo de Harpes Nefeli. They are currently preparing a new album, which is due for release at the beginning of 2015.

"A well-balanced duo, with perfectly matched sonorities and a varied programme. ..this was a very pleasant time spent with the Duo NEFELI" (Marielle Nordmann)

Download the official biography

Discography

Facebook

Le Duo Nefeli, c’est une histoire d’amitié : deux musiciennes françaises, Primor Sluchin et Agnès Peytour, se croisent lors d’un stage de harpe, en France… Dix ans plus tard, elles se retrouvent par hasard en Belgique. La première est harpiste à l’Opéra Royal de Wallonie à Liège, la seconde est une pédagogue réputée à Bruxelles (Ecole Européenne et Académie d’Anderlecht). Elles se découvrent alors une même passion, une même vision de la musique. De ces retrouvailles naîtra en 2008 le Duo Nefeli.

En quelques saisons, le Duo Nefeli s’est imposé comme l’une des formations musicales les plus étonnantes et originales de sa génération. Depuis le début de leur collaboration, les deux harpistes ont été invitées à de nombreuses reprises sur les scènes européenne. En Belgique, à Bruxelles (Brussels Harp Festival, Festival Musiq3, Palais des Beaux-Arts, Musée des Instruments de Musique), à la Nuit Musicale de Seneffe, au Festival de Florenville, à Namur (Maison de la Poésie), à Charleroi et à Liège (Musée des Beaux-Arts). En France, leur premier concert a eu lieu en 2008 au Palais des Papes d’Avignon. Depuis, Lille, Carqueiranne, Aubusson, Grenoble ont eu le bonheur de les entendre. Elles ont également participé en 2011 aux Musicales Guil Durance. En février 2015, le Duo Nefeli participe au Festival Harpe en Avesnois, une référence dans le monde de la harpe.

De concerts en festivals, une étroite complicité s’est nouée entre les deux musiciennes, donnant à leur duo une force et une sensibilité leur permettant d’explorer et de partager avec le public des répertoires connus, originaux ou oubliés. L’intensité de leur interprétation, l’expressivité de leur jeu, leur niveau d’exigence et la richesse de leur timbre ont été partout remarqués et salués.

Agnes-Peytour--Primor Sluchinjpg030

Toutes deux pédagogues, Agnès Peytour et Primor Sluchin se sont fait une spécialité de partager leur passion au delà de la seule performance musicale. Chacun de leur spectacle est conçu comme une visite guidée permettant de découvrir les secrets d’une époque, de ses compositeurs, de leurs oeuvres, et bien sûr de la harpe. Animé du même désir de transmettre, les deux musiciennes ont créé un concours international destiné aux jeunes harpistes, le concours Harpegio qui a lieu tous les deux ans au Musée des Instruments de Musique de Bruxelles.

Le Duo Néféli fait vivre et revivre le répertoire quasi illimité du duo de harpes. En plus des oeuvres écrites pour cette formation très en vogue au 18e siècle, le duo parcourt toute l’histoire de la musique en proposant des transcriptions soigneusement choisies. Leur volonté de promouvoir la création les amène également à travailler en étroite collaboration avec des compositeurs. Les deux harpistes interpréteront ainsi en 2015 une oeuvre de Frédéric Boulard, créée spécialement pour le Festival de Maubeuge.

En 2009, elles ont sorti leur premier CD, Duo de Harpes Nefeli. Primor Sluchin et Agnès Peytour préparent un nouvel album qui sortira début 2015.

« Un duo bien équilibré, des sonorités qui s’accordent parfaitement, un programme varié… voilà un bien agréable moment passé avec le Duo Nefeli », Marielle Nordmann.

Télécharger la biographie officielle

Discographie

Facebook