The Harpegio project was born in 2009 from the mind of three professional harpists in Belgium, as an answer to the question : how to promote the harp and its young talents, how to gather pupils and teachers around this certainly magical but thought of as solitary instrument ?

With Agnès Peytour and Vinciane Degroote, Primor Sluchin then creates the Harpegio association. Its purpose : to actively promote the playing of the harp, support the efforts of young musicians on the field and to share their passion for this instrument.

Thus was started in 2010 the first National Harp Competition open to young talents and to all levels of education. Two days of competition, meetings, concerts and exchanges around the harp in the exceptional setting of the Musée des Instruments de Musique de Bruxelles. At the first installment, dozens of pupils and their teachers show up.

DSC_0126_resized
DSC_0126_resized

The event, acknowledged since then as a showcase and a springboard for young harpists, is organized every other year. Originally restricted to Belgian musician, it is now open to all musicians in the Benelux.

Besides this competition, Harpegio regularly organizes masterclasses of renown, acclaimed by the pupils. The association also brought Marielle Nordmann in Belgium, as well as Bernard Andrès.

http://www.harpegio.eu

Article from "Libre Belgique"

Le projet Harpegio est né en 2009 dans l’esprit de trois harpistes professionnelles, exerçant en Belgique, en réponse à une question : comment promouvoir la harpe et ses jeunes talents, comment rassembler élèves et professeurs autour de cet instrument certes magique mais que l’on décrit comme solitaire ?

Associée à Agnès Peytour et Vinciane Degroote, Primor Sluchin crée alors l’association Harpegio. L’objectif : encourager activement la pratique de la harpe, soutenir sur le terrain les efforts des jeunes musiciens et faire partager une même passion pour cet instrument.

C’est ainsi qu’est lancé en 2010 le premier concours national de harpe ouvert aux jeunes talents et à tous les niveaux académiques. Deux jours de compétition, de rencontres, de concerts et d’échanges autour de la harpe dans le cadre exceptionnel du Musée des Instruments de Musique de Bruxelles. Dès la première édition, des dizaines d’élèves et leurs professeurs répondent présent.

DSC_0126_resized
DSC_0126_resized

L’évènement, reconnu depuis comme une vitrine et un tremplin pour les jeunes harpistes, est organisé tous les deux ans. Réservé à l’origine aux musiciens belges, il est désormais ouvert à tous les musiciens du Benelux.

Parallèlement à ce concours, Harpegio organise régulièrement des masterclass réputés, plébiscités par les élèves. L’association a ainsi fait venir en Belgique Marielle Nordmann ou encore Bernard Andrès.

http://www.harpegio.eu

Article de la Libre Belgique